Le Success! How I finally managed to make macarons

In February, I tried to make macarons and failed terribly. (See the blog post here)  A few months ago, I was doing some research for a magazine feature for university and decided to have another attempt using a different recipe. And it worked!

I won’t post the recipe on this post because it wasn’t mine, but I recommend you check it out on the Pink Whisk blog for some baking inspiration or tips.

SAM_0986

I had read a lot of about how different types of food colouring could affect the finished macaron, so I used blue liquid food colouring with half and red gel colouring for the other half. Straight away I noticed that I didn’t have to add as much gel to the mixture to get the colour that I wanted- something which I was very grateful for since it was quite expensive!

SAM_0988

SAM_0989

Unlike the first time I made them, I left them to sit for half an hour before I put them in the oven, and it really seems to have made a huge difference! I can honestly say that when I took them out of the oven and saw they had feet this time, I felt proud.

SAM_0993

As you can see, it turned out that the type of colouring used does affect the bake of the macaron. Quite a lot. It’s certainly made me want to invest in some new gel colours to try out.

SAM_0994

Although they were pretty much unusable, they were still delicious and my boyfriend quite happily munched on them for the next few days.

SAM_1007

I filled the good macarons with pretty standard vanilla buttercream and they tasted delicious! I’m so happy that I finally managed to make them. Next, I want to be more adventurous and try more flavour combinations.

Everyone needs an assistant…SAM_0997

One thought on “Le Success! How I finally managed to make macarons

Leave a Reply

